My Rock

Well besides both my husband and I switching jobs during the holidays there is a lot going on. I can’t really get into the details but I have a feeling that 2012 is going to be a year to prepare for major changes. Some of these potential changes will be pretty difficult and I have been feeling a little blue. But during worship today I felt like God put this on my heart and wanted to share it here. So here it goes. . .

How much is my faith placed in circumstances, my job, my family, and my friends? Is it bad to have all these things in my life to lean on – absolutely not! But if they are all suddenly gone (I know that sounds morbid) then do I crumble? Do I become utterly lost?

No – because my faith needs to be in Jesus Christ first and foremost. He has promised that He will never leave or forsake me. He will be there with me in any and every circumstance. So no matter what the future holds I do not need to be fearful because the God of all creation cares enough to walk me through it.

And as usual – because God is awesome like this – our pastor’s sermon was pretty much about the same thing (and no that is not a coincidence). I Peter 5:6-11.

So thank you Lord for all the blessings you have brought into my life: all the friends, family, my job and even my trials (because I have learned so much through them). But Lord let my praise be to You not because of just those blessings but because You died in my place and You give me the gift of redemption and grace.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “My Rock

Leave a Reply

